The Bristol Bay Regional Seafood Development Association released their board of directors election results last week.

The BBRSDA’s member-elected volunteer board provides financial and policy guidance for the association and oversees its management. Through their service, BBRSDA board members help determine the future of one of the world’s most dynamic commercial fisheries.

Three boards seats had expired and were looking to be filled. 320 eligible ballots were received in the voting process.

Michael Friccero ran unopposed for Seat A, an Alaska resident seat,receiving 300 votes.

Lange Solberg ran unopposed for Seat D, a non-Alaska resident seat receiving 300 votes.

Anthony ‘Tony’ Wood beat out Connor Smith for Seat G, an open residency seat. Wood received 180 votes to Smith’s 132.

The full board consists of seven (7) elected seats reserved for permit holders in participating gear groups, currently limited to driftnet permit holders (S03T). These seven (7) elected seats are allocated according to residency: three (3) seats for Alaska residents; two (2) seats for non-residents of Alaska; and two (2) open residency seats.

Have you listened to this article via the audio player above?

If so, send us your feedback around what we can do to improve this feature or further develop it. If not, check it out and let us know what you think via email or on social media.

Samuel Hill is the former associate editor for National Fisherman. He is a graduate of the University of Southern Maine where he got his start in journalism at the campus’ newspaper, the Free Press. He has also written for the Bangor Daily News, the Outline, Motherboard and other publications about technology and culture.

Join the Conversation